The Chosen Response.

2004-09-06 / 7:30 a.m.

I'm here at work for the first time in a while and am enjoying being here. It's funny how different everything seems when you feel better.

The not-so-favorite nurse is here at work, but that's ok. I got here and Kel said that no-so-favorite nurse was being a real bitch, but to me she's been pretty ok. 2 weeks ago I had my 90 day review and was able to talk to my boss pretty freely about the whole thing. I lucked out with boss's. She reminded me of something that I seemed to have forgotten and it's probably because I haven't been in the workplace for a while.

Basically it reminded me that it's how I choose to respond. It helps me to know what kind of background people come from or know that there's something going on in their lives. I know that at work I don't take my shit out on other people, but a lot of people aren't the same way. I get really mad when I feel like people think they're going to walk on me. But if I react in a positive way, I generally get a positive response.

Whatever. I think I don't know what the hell I'm writing about right now. It's all generic stuff that I used to do but I can choose how I react, ya know.

Just like Alan Alda's GW head-of-wst-cst-operations manager. I chose to react negatively when I found out he was in stalker-mode. But he pretty much deserves it.

Yup.

It always amazes me when we get calls in here that are misdirected calls and the nurses have to argue with someone to call 911 when they're short of breath or whatever. I remember that about working insurance. People were so fearful that something wouldn't get paid and we'd tell them over and over again to hang up and call 911.

last entrynext entry